INTRODUCTION                                                                                                                                   PG teaching roster 2017

The deptt.of Ophthalmology came in to existence in the year 1966 when HP Medical College was established.   

  • In the year 1980, Postgraduate diploma courses were started. First batch passed out in the year, 1982 .
  •   Also in the same year the deptt. was upgraded as school of training to paramedical ophthalamic asstt. Under NCPB and 120 batches of the same has been passed out.
  • In the year 1983, the deptt equipped with Fundus fluorescent angiography, fundus photograph camera, Goldmann Perimeter and newer slit lamps.
  • In the year 1986, Postgraduate degree courses in Ophthalmology started with 2-MS seats. First batch passed out in the year,1989. Till today a total of 70- PG students have passed out.
  • In the year 1988-89 we were part of ICMR national projects and survey for future strategy at national and regional level.
  • In the year 2005, Phacoemulsification cataract surgery was started. Also OT was equipped with newer operating microscope.
  • In the year 2008, equipped with YAG Laser(double frequency),Lightmed
  • In the same year, equipped with Octopus 900 Perimeter for visual field charting.
  • In the year 2010, PG Degree seats increased from two to four seats.
  • Also in the same year, equipped with Photoslit lamp for cornea clinic.
  • On 29 August,2010, the first eye bank of the state of H.P. was established at I.G.M.C Shimla.

List of Head of Departments, Deptt. Of Ophthalmology, I.G.M.C. Shimla(H.P.)

Sr. No. Name From To
Dr. B.S. Jain October 1969 to March 1971
Dr. G.C. Sood April 1971 ti March 1973
Dr. B.K. Sofat April 1973 to November 1990
Dr. B.K. Goesl December 1990 to September 1995
Dr. (MRS) V Bansal October 1995 to May 2001
Dr. K.P. Chaudhary June 2001 to June 2002
Dr. (MRS) V Bansal July 2002 to June 2003
Dr. K.P Chaudhary June 2003 to Nov 2016
    9. Dr. M.L. Pandey Nov. 2016 to till date


Following faculty members has also served the deptt. Of Ophthalmology in the past:

  • Dr R S Parmar (Associate prof.) Till 1998
  • Dr BD Sharma (Asstt. Prof.) Till 1996
  • Dr Surat Singh (Prof.) Till 2007
  • Dr Anil Chauhan (Prof.)
  • Dr Rajeev Tuli (Prof.)
  • Dr R.K. Gupta(Prof.)

List of PG candidates and their thesis work                       

© All Rights Reserved Indira Gandhi Medical College,Shimla-171001, INDIA
Phone : (0177) 2804251
EPBX : 2651854-59,2803073,2654713
 Fax : (0177) 2658339, Email  :